Breezy Point and Horseheads, NY with Annie House Photos

This weeks theme at SEPIA SATURDAY is posted here  http://sepiasaturday.blogspot.com/ . When I saw it, the first picture to pop into my head I already posted not long ago for another photo prompt. Its the showcasing of the back of a train car that caught my eye.

To read more of that post go to

https://savethephotos.wordpress.com/2011/06/02/trains-depots-and-railroad-worker-photos-sepia-saturday/

This post below is not on theme but one Ive been working on this past week, then my internet went down literally in the midst of composing this entry and I had to wait another week to go and finish it! When you are in the middle of writing and researching and your abruptly stopped, its frustrating and hard to get your focus back, I have to be in a mood to do the writing and have a block of time to work on it without the business of parenting, work and life buzzing all around you.

Found these photos in a fantastic booth in Phoenix, Az. This booth had a large stack of large vintage photos, 5X7, 8 x 10 and up!
As usual I scan the backs for any info I can work with and found these 2. Quite a bit was jotted down on the back which makes the pictures take on much more meaning. These two photo’s I could tell went together by the writing on the back, both are 5 x 7 in size. I don’t know about the rest of my fellow Old Photo and Postcard bloggers, but my heart sinks with the amounts of family history unmarked and lost floating around. Im more hopeful when they have some notes jotted down that perhaps one day they will go back into their family history or used for other documentation down the road. I think we are all detectives in our way.

No last name for this family, all we have is “Annie and her Parents” in the photos along with their homes. There are some last names listed as guests so maybe at some point that will help solve the mystery. Looks like a great Vacation/Retirement Home as stated. Was it at Horseheads or Breezy Point? My guess is perhaps Horseheads since there is sprawling land around, but one never knows, Breezy is by the coast.

This Photo  says “Breezy Point Horseheads, N.Y.  Before 1919. Annie at side with bicycle” . There were duplicates of this photo when I found it, this was the best copy I could find, but there was a very faded one that one had a bunch of info written on the back, I pleaded a bit with the storeowner if I could copy the info off the back of one, Id hand write it and buy the better copy, she acted reluctant to let me do that at first? I said “Ill jot it down myself, Im not asking you to copy it for me” but she ended up copying it after all for me. Remember to click on the photos to get a closer view.

It reads “My Grandfather had a photographer come out from the village to take pictures. Very poor picture, but has survived – shows house. Notice spacing of people- again Annie a little distance off. By 1919 Annie wanted to go back to New York – Grandma needed care – my mother thought it her responsibility to go up and take care of her. She moved us all up- everything in 1914(hard to be sure if the last number is a 4 as its blurred, so date may be a little off)I was in 5th grade. Lived there thru elem, high school and college.Graduated in 1929.”

Second photo reads “My grandfathers place at “Breezy Point” at Horseheads, N.Y. about 1915 when they moved up there as a retirement home. Big house built by one of my grandfather’s brothers. 7 acres room for a large garden and hay crop for horse.

This is in the early stages, lawn not finished, later it was smooth a few flowering shrubs, a great place for croquet, which went on nearly all the time! Everyone “Motored” up in a few years – at one time there were 17 people there for two weeks – including Miller’s (5), Sanfords (4) and us. Including 10 children – Alice S. came up to recuperate from pneumonia (1929)

Note figures in black. Owner and wife – but a little distance away – “Annie” the “girl” is posed with her bicycle.”

So Im not sure which it is, since the photos say “Horseheads, NY” and “Breezy Point” where they are taken. lm just going off the notes I do have.

Googling Horseheads I found this…

“THE HISTORY OF HORSEHEADS, NY
It was the first of September 1779.  Under orders the forces of General Sullivan, burdened down with heavy military equipment,  marched north in their 450-mile journey through a wooden wilderness from Easton, PA over to Wyoming, and on up the Susquehanna River Trail to Newtown (Elmira).  They returned about three weeks later, having accomplished fully and completely the purpose for which they had set out. The larger portion of the army under the immediate command of General Sullivan returned by the way it went.The journey had been particularly severe and wearing upon the animals and their food supply  found insufficient.  Arriving about six miles north of Fort Reid on September 24, 1779 they were obliged to dispose of a large number of sick and disabled horses. The number of horses was so great that they were quite noticeable, and the native Iroquois collected the skulls and arranged them in a line along the trail. That spot, from that time forward was referred to as the “valley of the horse’s heads” and is still known by the name given to it by the Iroquois. “Fromhttp://www.horseheadshistorical.com/#

There is not a lot on the internet about Breezy Point when I google it but I found a few things…

Wikipedia – Breezy Point is a neighborhood in the New York City borough of Queens, located on the western end of the Rockaway peninsula,  The community is run by the Breezy Point Cooperative, in which all residents pay the maintenance, security, and community-oriented costs involved with keeping the community private.

Breezy Point and the Rockaway Peninsula in general are unlike the rest of the city of New York, with the latter being very urbanized, developed and noisy, with Breezy Point being a quiet beach community, having more in common with nearby Long Island and even the Hamptons.

This site has some old photos and postcards labeled “Breezy Point, NY”

http://www.farrockaway.com/carol/morpRockawayPoint_BreezyPoint_RiisPark.html

and this one

http://kennedysbreezypoint.com/aboutus.html

 

If you can help or provide more clues to these photos feel free to comment or contact me, I love hearing stories or other facts surrounding the photos on my blogs.

13 Comments

Filed under Loose Photos

13 responses to “Breezy Point and Horseheads, NY with Annie House Photos

  1. I think that there was a Breezy Point in Horseheads. Maybe it wasn’t an official name. I noticed there was a Breesport in Horseheads.

    • Hey there, I also saw a Breesport too while doing research and wondered if maybe that was it also, but really nothing else I could find. Will see what some others dig up as I contacted some others with sites on the area.

  2. I don’t know anything about these places but I can sympathise with the frustration of trying to complete a post against the odds! It’s interesting that the reluctant store owner finally relented. They are interetsing photos nevertheless.

  3. gluepot

    Not much of a view out of the back door of that carriage, but good if you’re looking for some air, I suppose.

  4. One of the things I so love about the way Sepia Saturday has developed in the almost two years it has been running is the care, attention, effort and creativity people put into their posts. They are so often crafted so well (and yours is a good example of this) and therefore a pleasure to read.

  5. I’m so glad you asked to write down the information written on the back of the photo. I can’t understand why the vendor would hesitate for a second. Sometimes I think they don’t understand anything beyond the dollar value of the photos though. These are wonderful – and thanks for documenting them so carefully.

  6. It is hard for me to believe anyone would give up such treasures – not just the photo but the story on the back.

  7. A very interesting read; the flea market stallholders here are the most miserable lot I’ve come across. One even suggests you make a donation if you don’t buy; no chance of copying or transcribing information on the back. Your faed photos are fascinating.

  8. Karen S.

    Such an interesting story, and great photos to treasure….

  9. I so much agree about the amounts of family history unmarked and lost floating around. It’s so sad and frustrating at the same time. I have two or three postcard collections with no documentation.

  10. Chris D

    I grew up in this area, but never heard of Breezy Point. But…there were a number of names given – by settlers – to certain local areas, but many of these monikers did not survive the post-war development era. For instance, there was a hill we called Old Baldy, which I could point out readily on a map, but probably only the folks the live very nearby (or those over age 60) would recognize by that name.
    As for Breesport, it was called that not because it was “breezy”, but because it was first settled by a family named “Breese.”
    Your two photos are interesting. Given the age of the house and what I know about the terrain, I’d place it somewhere on West Broad Street. Many of the old homes from the era survive today, and it wouldn’t take long driving around the area to locate this one.

    • Hi Chris,
      I just noticed your comment, a little late! Did you by chance get to see if you could locate anywhere resembling these homes? I also saw Breezy Point was hit by Hurricane Sandy and see lots of news stories on the area. Did the Hurricane hit the areas with old historic type homes?

      • Chris D

        The Breezy Point involved in hurricane Sandy is in Queens, just SW of Kennedy Airport; nowhere near Horseheads. I’ve checked a number of resources for the Horseheads area, but found no mention of “Breezy Point”. Wish I had more info.

Leave a Reply

